U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-28-2012, 07:47 PM

14 posts, read 33,378 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone, I need your advise again. So I got a highly recommended buyers agent from my bank (bank wanted me to have my own representative since this is my first time buying). I called her up and told her I had found a house on my own (saw an empty house, found out who owned it, asked..... and got a yes) and that my bank would like her to go and take me through the house to finalize the sale.
Here are my issues with her:
1. She called up the seller and told him the house is an "enviromental hazard" (leaky roof, wet basement)
2. She told the seller he has to pay her $2,500 - that is her "base fee", since hubby and I are not able to pay her (the house sells for 25K).
3. She finally met us at the house and handed us right away two other listings we should look at.
4. She asked us not to ask the owner any questions and not to say anything - period, nor should we call him.
5. She took us into the house on Friday (no mold whatsoever but a musty old smell from the house being totally closed up for 5 years) and told us that we shouldn't even look around, the house is worth nothing and literally asked us to leave after only 15 minutes. We weren't even allowed to look into the basement!
She told us we have no idea what we are getting into and that we should think it over and give her an answer on Monday via Telephone.