U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Food and Drink > Recipes
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-31-2008, 09:09 AM

1,393 posts, read 2,536,560 times

Advertisements

I need some help in finding some good Crabcake Recipes....I have looked online but not being a cook I can't tell a good recipe from a bad one just by reading it. Thanks for any help you can give me....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-31-2008, 10:12 AM

13,382 posts, read 40,928,266 times
If you buy fresh (not canned) flaked crab, there is usually a recipe on the canister.
If you are using live crabs and do not have a recipe, look online for anything that uses Worcerstershire sauce, mustard, lemon, and at least one egg.
Sometimes paprika, as well, but you don't want too much.
I make a variation of the recipes below--the amounts may change according to what I have on hand. I always fry them in butter, though.
Different folks go for different tastes, but those flavors, IMHO, are the best ones to be combined with crab.

Here is an example:
Crab Cake Recipe

Here is another:
Crab Cake recipe

Old 01-31-2008, 10:20 AM

1,393 posts, read 2,536,560 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueWillowPlate View Post
If you buy fresh (not canned) flaked crab, there is usually a recipe on the canister.
If you are using live crabs and do not have a recipe, look online for anything that uses Worcerstershire sauce, mustard, lemon, and at least one egg.
Sometimes paprika, as well, but you don't want too much.