U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-10-2016, 08:11 AM

1,599 posts, read 2,677,732 times

Advertisements

I'm a small/medium business owner and don't travel at all besides visiting family trips. My wife goes away frequently for 3-5 day trips a few(5-10) times a year. They are somewhat career related, but they are casual to say the least.

We travel as a family 2-3x a year to visit family on the east coast. We also travel as a family 1x a year to Europe for ~20 days.

I'm wanting to spend about a week in Europe, on my bicycle, just wandering around my families village, people watching, drinking espressos, and decompressing from the stressful life I have.

We are both income earners, although I pay 100% or all our expenses as well as traveling.

My question is, do you guys think it would be wrong to ask to go on a trip like this solo? Do you think it's selfish? I feel that it's important to my wellbeing and something I think about a lot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-10-2016, 08:45 AM

38,864 posts, read 37,535,343 times
It's VERY self-indulgent. Not sure I would go so far as to call it selfish.

Old 04-10-2016, 08:52 AM

15,672 posts, read 7,669,647 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoracer51 View Post
I'm a small/medium business owner and don't travel at all besides visiting family trips. My wife goes away frequently for 3-5 day trips a few(5-10) times a year. They are somewhat career related, but they are casual to say the least.