U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-02-2011, 09:51 AM

177 posts, read 342,219 times

Advertisements

Hi Everyone,

I am renting here in California and very unclear as to what I should do in my situation.

I have been renting in a Condo for almost 2 years now. I started off on a one year lease that went to a month to month lease after the first year was up. The owner was going to foreclose, but ended up doing a short sale. Escrow closed on the short sale 2 days ago on June 30th. The new owner started making ridiculous requests for me to wire the first month's rent plus security deposit before escrow was even closed. She also wanted me to send 6 post-dated checks to Canada, where she lives. On top of this she was asking me to do a bunch of caulking work and fix all of these things. (The dishwasher has been broken for over 2 months now, and nobody wants to address it). Here's the kicker: THERE IS STILL NO LEASE AGREEMENT! I have asked her several times, and she has not been able to produce one.

We did have a verbal agreement that I would stay month to month.

The good news is that I have already received my deposit back from the original landlord, and the funds have cleared.

I want to move out and do no feel comfortable dealing with this woman. She also is refusing to get a property manager.