U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Happy Thanksgiving Day!
Happy Thanksgiving Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-30-2012, 02:25 PM

3 posts, read 6,360 times

Advertisements

I just bought a multi families house in Chicago. I'm renting out 1 floor. This is my first time being a landlord. I want to make sure I don't do anything illegal that will cause me troubles later.

*I read on the internet that in order to make sure the potential tenants can pay their monthly rent, I need to make sure they make 2.5 times the rent. Is it legal to ask how much they make a month?

What other questions should I ask? Here is my list:

1)How many people and what are their relationship to you will be living in the unit?
2)What is the reason for moving?
3)How long is your intended rental term?
4)Occupancy Date?
5)Do you smoke?
6)Do you have pets?
7)How is your credit?
8)What is your occupation?
9)Landlord references?

*From what I read, I will also need to run credit check on them. What service would you recommend? What is the minimum score should be met?

*Where do I get form templates for the credit consent, lease, contract ... ?

A lot of questions, I know. Thanks for your inputs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-30-2012, 02:54 PM

829 posts, read 1,700,360 times
Buy this, like.. NOW

Amazon.com: Landlording: A Handymanual for Scrupulous Landlords and Landladies Who Do It Themselves (9780932956255): Leigh Robinson: Books