U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 01-24-2013, 03:29 PM

18 posts, read 39,449 times
Default Landlord refuses to provide rent receipts

Hi, I rent an illegal apartment in smithtown ny. The landlord demands cash and refuses to provide a receipt. (I just found out that was illegal and I could have called the police. I had no idea.)

I have lived here for six years, paying over a thousand a month. In this last year I was laid off and my unemployment ran out. I'm a licensed broker but I'm older and partially disabled. Its been a ****** finding another position.

I went to social services for temporary assistance when my unemployment ran out. I was DENIED because I could not provide rent receipts. The landlord it seems is a LONG TIME tax evader and refused.

They offered however, to try to find a way to provide documentation to me such that I COULD go to social services and get help... I've been waiting for them to provide this documentation for MONTHS now.

FINALLY, yesterday, instead of some kind of letter I can take to social services, they evicted me.

I am OUT almost of years worth of benefits and now that I am flat broke BECAUSE of the lack of cooperation on their part to provide PROOF that I live here and pay rent, I am about to be homeless.

And FURTHER, I don't even think the place has a certificate of occupancy. It is NOT sealed from the crawlspace below and they have ignored by request for help with a rodent problem for years.