Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-11-2018, 10:32 AM

2 posts, read 876 times

Advertisements

I've been renting a shack on a lake for almost 6 years. The owners refinanced the house and asked me to sign a lease to show rental income on the property. I think it was in January. I've tolerated living in a shack because I loved the location. I had hoped to buy it and remodel but the owners didn't want to sell. The location is no longer worth it and now I want out.

Long story short the owners have been building on the adjacent lot for the past 9 months. It has prevented me from being able to even enjoy being outside. I've had people in my yard, on my deck, heavy excavating equiptment outside my window
and I've had to keep curtains closed just to have a bit of privacy. The owner comes and goes in my garage without asking, people park in my driveway blocking me in, they disrespect any boundaries and don't seem to think I have any rights as I'm just a renter. Construction is finally ending but they tore up about 1/3 of my yard and while they sodded to the property line on my side they decided to do seed. So basically I won't have a yard for the summer. It's frankly the last straw and I want to move. Problem is they didn't give me a copy of the lease and I'm not sure what my rights are.