U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-04-2008, 12:32 AM

2 posts, read 60,425 times

Advertisements

My one year lease is ending on August 26th, and I'm planning to move out. I waited to secure the new place before telling my landlord today (August 3rd). He mentioned about a 30 day notice, but it wasn't on the contract and I'm a first time student renter so I didn't know about it. I simply thought that I could just go when my lease ends by giving him 3 weeks notice. I don't know if it's relevant, but the contract doesn't explicitly state that it's a one year or monthly contract, that part was merely an oral agreement between us.

Now he says he's "thinking it over", as though I need his approval. Does this mean I'm legally bound to give the 30 day notice even though it wasn't in the contract?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-04-2008, 07:55 AM

22,567 posts, read 27,275,301 times