U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-11-2010, 12:05 AM

1 posts, read 23,893 times

Advertisements

Does anyone know what legal rights I have for landord to fix up apartment after living in the same apartment for 17 years?

I have been a resident manager for 15 years and got a reduction in my rent - Because of that the Landlord would not doing anything in my unit and when she did it the work was not done correctly because she hired workers she would find for cheap. Example - they changed my floors in the kitchen and dining room with ceramic tiles - the tiles were installed poorly and now have hairline crack in many of the tiles and the grout that was used was not grout of tiles. The counters had the tiles coming to the edges with no corner tiles nor edges - so now the tiles on edge have small chips and she is blaiming us and will not fix them -

She has never painted or replaced the carpeting - What does the landord have to do as far as fixing up the apartment? I know all about the hazardous, plumbing, locks etc.. that must get done in 30days - but what other rights do I have to get the landord to paint and fix up -
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-15-2010, 12:02 AM

1 posts, read 23,452 times