U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-30-2010, 09:15 AM

10,822 posts, read 7,345,377 times
Default Fixed Income Investments

<<Unfortunately it's hard to find a safe investment that pays anything.>>

Instead of people commenting here and there about fixed income investments - I thought it would be useful to start a separate thread. Disclosure - I've been doing fixed income investing for over 30 years - BUT I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL. So my comments here are based only on personal non-professional experiences and observations.

I guess the first issue that the quoted statement brings up is "what is safe"? Is one looking for income for the next 10 years - or a place to park money to pay the taxes you may owe in April? IOW - is maximizing/maintaining income the main goal - or preserving principal? If the former - well one can get 4.5% to 5% tax-free returns on high quality state GOs these days. If the latter - about the best you'll do is maybe 1.25% taxable in a "high yield" FDIC insured bank account.

Anyway - is anyone interested in discussing this? No need to start writing a treatise if no one's interested - not much fun talking to myself . Robyn
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-30-2010, 12:48 PM

767 posts, read 1,266,285 times