U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 03-06-2011, 04:11 PM

1,155 posts, read 1,330,471 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I was thinking of buying a house in florida. Right now I live in MA.

If I am a permanent resident of FL, but maintain my house in MA I could save big time on taxes. State Income tax on dividends and investments.

How does the state check that you live >6 months out of the year in FL? It seems like it would be tuff to get caught.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-06-2011, 05:54 PM

553 posts, read 535,150 times
The state would say you lived in MA and ask you to prove where you were on each day of the year. The problem is yours to prove, not theirs.
However, getting your drivers license in FL, changing all mail to Florida, and actualy living in Florida for 183+ days should work. Actualy you should be out of MA for 183 days. The key is that you let everyone know that you consider Florida your home and not MA. Redo your will.
If you actualy live outside of MA for 183 days I would not worry. You will also want to file for the Fl homestead credit for realestate taxes. Title your cars in FL. etc. etc. Since you will have a home in MA you will have to file a non resident income tax return.

Old 03-06-2011, 07:50 PM
PDD

5,942 posts, read 6,221,649 times
I would claim main residence for the state with the lower state income tax which I assume is Florida.