U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-17-2009, 01:20 AM

5,090 posts, read 13,546,321 times

Advertisements

I think the issues of HUD, low income and disabled housing for the elderly is confusing. I am disabled on social security disability. I am also a Veteran. Because I am getting sicker and I do not know how long I will be able to live alone in my house, I have been researching these programs. In addition, I have parents who are in their 80s and I know eventually I will need to know more about these issues.

Yes, there are many programs available but putting it all together and trying to understand is a real challenge for the elderly. All these programs are administered by separate agencies. There are places to seek help but from my experience in dealing with my problems, I have seen that not one person or one agencies knows all the available resources that can apply.

For an elderly person and/or disabled trying to get information, understand information can be very trying. Yes, there are religious, social agencies and government people who have some knowledge but not all for all cases, and many times they cannot give you information about available resources they do not know or care to know. I have found that many programs that I can qualify for assistance are little known, not advertised, not understood by the agencies responsible, and many times I am given the wrong information. It really requires me to be my own advocate.