U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-23-2014, 09:58 PM

8,080 posts, read 13,460,711 times

Advertisements

I am a 56 year old widow with grown kids and have just been through 2 years of downsizing stuff/house repair/listing/selling/moving. I bought a nice townhouse that I can clean in about an hour..woohoo !!

My house is paid for and HOA fees are 120/month...I will be able to live fine on 2000 per month..
I have about 580K in retirement investments...No loans or depts..

I worked as a Speech Pathologist before the kids were born and could easily find work because of a shortage in the field...I could do part time, hourly PRN work, or take temporary assignments....

My question is , Do I really need to work with my home owned and almost 600K invested...
SS will kick in before too long..

I have lots of goals, hobbies & adventures that I would love to focus on if I could be free to not work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-23-2014, 10:07 PM

1,192 posts, read 942,072 times
Certainly it would seem if the 580K is invested well (such as dividend paying securities like AT&T, Realty Income Inc. etc.) you can be generating the 4% return you need to get $24,000 a year until SS kicks in.

The only caveat I would have would be Health Insurance since you didn't mention that.

Old 04-23-2014, 10:07 PM

10,816 posts, read 8,061,664 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelly237 View Post
.I will be able to live fine on 2000 per month..
I have about 580K in retirement investments...