U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-29-2014, 08:27 PM

5,635 posts, read 13,971,828 times

Advertisements

Hey guys,
Currently I'm a contractor with a security clearance and have had opportunities to crossover to the fed side. In my case, is it really worth it to jump to the fed side or should I stay contractor for the next 25+ years?

I know job stability as a contractor is always a topic of concern, but lets put that aside for now.

I am 33 years old and currently make 100k/year. The benefits (e.g. life/disability insurance, tuition reimbursement, etc) are similar to federal civilians except for 2 main items:

1.) Healthcare is paid for my by employer and not deducted from my salary (I pay typical copays, but that is reimbursed up to 1k/year with a HRA debit card from employer)

2.) And the biggie...employer contributes 18% of my salary every year to a Vanguard SEP-IRA. This is NOT taken from my salary, it's on top of it.

On the federal civilian side, that salary is not very common within my agency. Even so, health insurance and retirement contributions are taken from fed civilian paychecks. I do know that civvies get a retirement annuity as well as medical insurance in retirement, something that is not available for me as a career contractor. However, due to my high salary, continued updating of skills, TS security clearance, and aggressive investment portfolio (lifecycle funds), I think I'll be doing better financially in retirement than I would had I gone to the federal civilian side?

Thoughts?