U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-26-2015, 07:14 PM

2 posts, read 2,198 times

Advertisements

Folks,

I have been flying solo in terns of investment advice, and just putting in money in 401k without putting in much thought. I am turning to you guys, because a) I am still a newbie and b) hoping to get a no BS answer/advice which I cant get from a fund manager who has an ulterior motive.

So I am 31, married and recently moved to the mid-west as my wife needed to go to school there. While I was single, I used to contribute the bare minimum 4% of base to match my employers contribution. This was when I was 25. From there, I have gone to maxing out my 401k this year, and that's without my employer contribution, which is an additional 4.5%. I currently have $110k in my 401k, which started in 2009 has accrued a total of 15% gain since inception. I understand that's hard to maintain in the long run, so I am looking for a conservative 6% return long term.

Besides my 401k, I also have employee stock purchase program and RSU's, 70% of which I have sold to put a down-payment on my condo. I have about $30k in my brokerage account (from shares sold), and I can easily add $23k per year to this account as I just sell my RSU and stock every 6 months when they mature. I don't need this money for now, so I am thinking of storing this for my retirement. Hoping to get a 6% return for this too.