U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-16-2016, 10:20 AM

6,124 posts, read 9,079,067 times

Advertisements

I have been donating stuff to Good Will for the last 6 months and it has cleared out this house immensely. Whatever I can fit in the car to take there is going. My question is, how much can I list as donation on my tax return? In previous years I have limited it to $500, due to rumors "You will get audited if you claim too much." I plan to have them come pick up a couch and love seat, a kitchen buffet, and some other things that should add up to more than $500 with the other stuff I have donated. Will I be in trouble if I list more than $500 on the tax form?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-16-2016, 10:39 AM

6,124 posts, read 9,079,067 times
Found old old wedding photos from the early 1900s of my grandmother's cousins. Could absolutely not do anything else but find one of the remaining children (I found 2 of them) and mail the large 17inch x 16inch photos to them. The children (in their 60s) both wrote to me with a grateful thanks.

Old 11-16-2016, 10:56 AM

36,484 posts, read 43,763,062 times
went through my huge kitchen in preparation to move to a medium sized kitchen in a few months. I'm going to put a notice on Nextdoor with this:

Big box full of kitchen gadgets and goodies FREE- First come first served

wooden salad bowl
square frying pan with heavy bacon press
deep and big teflon frying pan-really grungy
miscellaneous spoons, spatulas, large forks
crock pot sans lid from 1976-hate to see it go!