U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-14-2016, 09:05 AM

1,985 posts, read 3,290,358 times

Advertisements

I've been thinking of leaving the corporate world for a few years now; i'm an engineer in the med device biz and getting tired of the daily stress, etc. Wife and I are throwing around the idea of a personal concierge business, catering to older folks. These businesses can offer everything from food shopping for folks to transportation to appts, home watching, companionship and more. I'd like to add handeyman type services to this mix as well.

What do the retired folks think of this? I know there are many variations of this type of business, but I believe the population would support it. Do any of you use this type of service currently? I'm 50 years old, if that matters and looking at the SW region of FLA.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-14-2016, 10:39 AM

980 posts, read 607,475 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetto View Post
I've been thinking of leaving the corporate world for a few years now; i'm an engineer in the med device biz and getting tired of the daily stress, etc. Wife and I are throwing around the idea of a personal concierge business, catering to older folks. These businesses can offer everything from food shopping for folks to transportation to appts, home watching, companionship and more. I'd like to add handeyman type services to this mix as well.