Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-09-2017, 01:06 AM

Location: Approximately 50 miles from Missoula MT/38 yrs full time after 4 yrs part time
2,308 posts, read 4,122,467 times

Advertisements

In 1980 living in CO, I had been working in my chosen field since 1955, but wanted to leave CO and settle in the Bitterroot Valley of WESTERN MT., build our retirement home there on 14 acres I had purchased IN 1976. So I left my company of employment, asked for a year off to build my home, and then return to my former.position..................this is what I did, and worked the remaining13 years plus some extra months, and retired at age 62.
So, we ended up living in our custombuilt home on the property we loved ,then went back to my travelling industrial engineering job and retired at the end of 1993.
I had planned this out before I ever left Colorado, and my planning was the key to our success.
Had 12 wonderful years retirent living with my wife until she passed in 2005....I .have remained living in our retirement home and will properly die here........Could not be happier .............with my present circumstances.

I have everything I always planned on for retirement years (now in my 24 yr of retirement) .

I looked long and hard to find the property I wanted to build on, some 50 pieces of property spread over western Montana and portionsx of Idaho.
In the end it all worked out and this is my 38th full summer in this house.