U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-27-2018, 07:23 PM
Q44 Q44 started this thread

895 posts, read 768,264 times

Advertisements

Well now .... I've posted a few times over the past few years that I've been planning my retirement since I was 24 years old. I just turned 59 this month and am still involved in the same type of work I've been doing for close to 30 years. My plan for a while has been to retire at age 62, in 3 years.

Three years has just become 3 months! If you read the business or financial news you may have read that Verizon has just made a voluntary separation offer to their managers. I will be submitting my retirement papers in a few weeks and will be retired by year's end.

I'm still in a semi state of shock. The package is definitely fair if not generous and includes provisions for health coverage. Vz eliminated the management pension over a decade ago but I was grandfathered in to my level at the time. I plan on taking the lump sum and adding it to my 401k as I roll them to an IRA.