U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Retirement
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-20-2019, 09:48 AM

7,596 posts, read 4,680,291 times

Advertisements

...This one is a first, for me.

DH just packed up his car and headed back to California. There's an amateur radio event this weekend he wants to do with his Stanford group. OK, that's not weird. Many -- maybe even most -- hams are retired.

He's also clutching a jury summons and hopes to be selected for a jury.

Well, more power to him, doing his civic duty and all that. We are a two-state household: I'm a resident of 48 and he's still hoping the next time he crosses the border it will have reverted to the California of the 1950s.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-20-2019, 10:06 AM

2,183 posts, read 1,340,059 times
Maybe I'm weird too. I always thought being on a jury would be interesting. I am 71 and never got a summons to serve. I know someone in her 50s who has been called 3 times and served on juries all 3 times. But she lives in a major US city. Her take was that they had a hard time getting enough intelligent people to serve, thus the multiple calls.

Old 06-20-2019, 10:16 AM

2,086 posts, read 2,103,444 times
I've always wanted to be on a jury, but my job has kept me from being considered. Maybe I have that to look forward to when I retire as well!

Old 06-20-2019, 10:19 AM

31,599 posts, read 19,939,787 times
I actually found being on a jury interesting, but found being the Foreperson stressful.