U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Rhode Island
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 06-05-2009, 07:43 PM

15 posts, read 20,775 times
Default Does a moderately, charming town exist in RI?

So I'm doing some research to pinpoint where I would want to move upon graduation... I'm an artist and my fiance is a soon-to-be law school graduate. Rhode Island seems really appealing for its small town charm and close proximity to the beach (my fiance is a surfer buff)

But as a not-so-wealthy graduate student RI, much of what I have read is very intimidating due to the high cost of living there... Does a town exist in RI that graduate students could survive and raise a young family, without being in debt up to our eyeballs??

If so, I would love to hear your recommendations!

Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-05-2009, 07:57 PM

3,892 posts, read 5,038,072 times
There are many places to live in RI that have a moderate cost of living. If your husband gets a decently paying job as an attorney and you can make a salary as an artist, you'll be fine. If not, you're going to have a problem anywhere- not just RI. So jobs first, then home.

Old 06-05-2009, 08:07 PM

15 posts, read 20,775 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollytree View Post
There are many places to live in RI that have a moderate cost of living. If your husband gets a decently paying job as an attorney and you can make a salary as an artist, you'll be fine. If not, you're going to have a problem anywhere- not just RI. So jobs first, then home.