U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Roanoke area
 [Register]
Roanoke area Roanoke - Salem area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 02-15-2012, 04:48 PM

2 posts, read 3,884 times
Default Planning to move to roanoke/salem!!!

Hi, I am planning to relocate to Roanoke/Salem area. I plan to drive up for a couple of days this weekend.
I need information about Jobs,living cost/areas to rent/avoid, activities, population. I am 31 and moving with my brother who is 23. I am a registered nurse and my brother is looking for community college, manufacturing jobs or any.

What is the base pay for registered nurses?I assume the pay will be significantly lower that what it is in Alexandia,VA. Are there any or manufacturing jobs?
I am planning to rent for now. How is cost of living in Roanoke/Salem? what are the good areas/areas to avoid?Are there nice shopping centers /big malls? Where do young people hang out? What is the population- age, diversity, colleges students, gyms or different activities, coffee shops, comedy clubs?
Quick reply to this message

Old 02-16-2012, 06:15 AM

156 posts, read 153,414 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxsmall View Post
Hi, I am planning to relocate to Roanoke/Salem area. I plan to drive up for a couple of days this weekend.
I need information about Jobs,living cost/areas to rent/avoid, activities, population. I am 31 and moving with my brother who is 23. I am a registered nurse and my brother is looking for community college, manufacturing jobs or any.