U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Rural and Small Town Living
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-25-2011, 11:22 AM

220 posts, read 488,839 times

Advertisements

Since I'm a new resident in this smallish city (11,000) I've been invited to several local club meetings lately.

Over the years I've found that these clubs - whether it be Rotary, Kiwanis, Women's Federated, Altrusa, Optimist, Junior League, Ruritan, Masons, etc. etc. etc. - are the backbone of small communities. These are the people who raise and donate funds to the schools, libraries, kids ball teams, hospitals, scholarship funds and etc.

I've also observed that membership in these clubs is dying out. The members primarily consist of men and women in their 70s and 80s, with a small number of people in their 50s and 60s, and rarely anyone younger.

Fraternal and sororal organizations have been the backbone of small town life in America since the early 1900s. I wonder what the future of small communities will be when clubs like these close due to lack of membership? Will the boomers and subsequent generations support their communities in the same way as the older men and women have? And will small rural communities that are becomming seasonal homes for wealthy in-comers have any such groups to support them?

In the teensy community I used to live the only organization that was still active was KSKJ, which is the Slovenian heritage organization.

Here the most active group seem to be Rotary.