U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Rural and Small Town Living
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-12-2009, 11:34 PM

3 posts, read 6,828 times

Advertisements

Hi all - newbie here!

I operate a virtual assistant business, catering to CEO types. I have a new client who has hired me to do a project for him - finding him the ideal small town to relocate to. He owns a media company and can operate from anywhere and travels a lot. He's in his late 40's, single, college aged kids. His requirements are pretty straightforward, but there's so much information out there, where to begin? I have a bunch of sources so far, but thought that a personal perspective would be great to add as well.

No States:
TX, AL, MS, FL, GA, LA, NC, SC, VA, MD, DE, DC, PA, OH, OK, KS, WV, AK HI, ND, SD, WY, MT, CT, IN, IL

No Cities: NYC

Example Towns:
Pella, IA, Prescott AZ, Bisbee, AZ, Oxford, MS, Glenwood Springs, CO

Requirements:
Above Mason-Dixon Line
Rich cultural center – music, arts, books
Liberal/alternative community - people with tattoos, piercings are just fine
Vibrant coffee house(s) with internet access nearby
Pacific NW, Upper Midwest, Northeast preferred but not mandatory
Within 2 hours driving of a top 30 city (Boston, Minneapolis, Chicago, Seattle, SF, Portland, etc.)
College town ok
Major airport nearby
Not a suburb or exurb of the big city
Ample water supply important
Home budget - $250K to buy or $1,600 to rent
Separate work area in home or storefront within walking/bike distance, no office park
Cable modem internet access