U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Rural and Small Town Living
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-18-2009, 08:52 AM

1,297 posts, read 3,158,208 times

Advertisements

You go Cheerios!

Personally I think this issue truly shows that the FDA is getting a big bit for its own pants. I do not mind them fighting for the health and safety of the American people, but why are they getting involved in a silly argument regarding claims on a Cheerio's box which is steering people towards a more healthy option.

As a farmer I have always said, "You can pay the farmer or you can pay the doctor, but you are going to pay." I strongly feel that having people eat cheerios to lower cholesterol is a very good thing and is the direction this country needs to head. It will certainly help farmers and those in rural areas of the USA. I guess the question arises...who would really complain about a cereal box stating an obvious fact...whole grains help lower cholesterol? It also begs the question...why would the FDA care that a cereal box says the obvious?

Myself its time to tell the FDA to shut up and stop hurting this society by trying to "help" us so much. Good golly can't the FDA spend its time and budget fighting against unsafe practices they see instead of fighting against the advertising of healthy food choices?

We have too many people standing at the pharmacy counter now...sending them to the cereal isle for whole grains is not a bad thing.

Home - Cheerios
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-18-2009, 11:16 AM

7,543 posts, read 15,690,455 times