U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Rural and Small Town Living
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-08-2009, 08:53 PM

307 posts, read 845,349 times

Advertisements

Greetings all. I was curious if anyone had any insight as to where the best place is to get started and get involved with thr cattle ranching and/or equestrian business. I am looking at a few states, but am not sure where to go, and am considering all advice from people who know. I have little experience but am willing to learn and work hard. Would like to have my own ranch someday. Thanks to any help and opinions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-08-2009, 09:09 PM

14,711 posts, read 45,808,859 times
Offhand, you might start with a trip to a dude ranch, assuming you are completely green to the whole cowboy scene, although you will pay to work rather than get paid to work. Like hunting guides, you need to shop around for a dude ranch who are willing to take you on and give you the "crash course" as opposed to just "executive entertainment". I mention hunting guides since I know at least a few who will ask, if you want to learn to do this for yourself from now on, or do you just want to put an elk or moose head on your wall and you won't hunt them again -

Leasing a few acres to a local cattleman who grazes part of his herd on it, over the past few years I have learned quite a bit.

I think the best way to get into the ranching business, big Western style, is to inherit one...sorry to say that but it's really tough to make money consistently in agriculture period, anymore.