U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Sacramento
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Unread 09-06-2010, 11:41 PM

24,127 posts, read 24,899,290 times
Default Considering a move to Sacramento...

As much as I love San Francisco, where I've lived for more than half of my life, I think it might be time to relocate. I lost my full-time job over a year ago, and have since been scraping by with part-time work & unemployment. I have a Master's degree and 5 years of experience in my field (librarianship), but jobs are few and far between right now. Since I will be receiving unemployment for another 8-10 months, I figure now would be a good time to move... somewhere within CA to keep my benefits, but cheaper than SF, so I can focus on my job search without struggling to pay rent.

I went to college in Stockton (UOP), so I'm pretty familiar with the heat and scenery of the central valley - but know little about Sacramento itself. I've been there a million times, just not for long enough to learn the neighborhoods and so forth. I'm thinking downtown/midtown would be cool, but would love some input from the locals. Here's what I'd consider ideal:

- Restaurants & basic amenities within walking distance.
- Liberal, diverse, & open-minded neighbors.
- Dog-friendly parks and/or hiking areas nearby.
- Synagogue or Jewish Community Center within driving distance; I'm not super religious, but do attend services occasionally.