U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Sacramento
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 12-06-2008, 05:59 PM

2 posts, read 3,494 times
Smile Possible relocation to Sacramento, CA

I am waiting on a job offer and if all works out, my partner and I will have to relocate to Sac. I wanted to get some feedback regarding neighborhoods to live in. I am a professional and my partner is a retired police officer. No kids, but we have pets. We want to rent a home first before possible purchase to get to know the different areas.

We'd actually not like to live smack dab..next to a school if at all possible; I've been reading some of the postings and there's discussions on
suburbs.. What suburb is a good one: crime rate; commuting into sac; diversity, (gay).

Appreciate your feedback!
Quick reply to this message

Old 12-07-2008, 10:31 PM

754 posts, read 1,505,871 times
The suburbs around Sacramento aren't particularly ethnically diverse, and are even less welcoming to an openly gay couple. El Dorado and Placer Counties are very Republican, very "Christian", and in many ways, are really behind the times when it comes to socially progressive issues. I'm not saying people there are hostile per say, but if you want to live in a more comfortable social climate, I would recommend living in Sacramento - Midtown, Land Park, East Sacramento are very tolerant and diverse. Outside of the city to the west, I think Davis would be a good fit as well.

Old 12-08-2008, 12:07 PM

1,020 posts, read 622,980 times