Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Utah > Salt Lake City area
 [Register]
Salt Lake City area Salt Lake County - Davis County - Weber County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-30-2010, 05:09 PM

10 posts, read 17,756 times

Advertisements

I'm sure a lot of these questions have been answered, but would like some options as to what I can expect living in/near SLC.

Background Info
My gf and I currently live in upstate NY in a smaller town (about 20,000 people). I graduated in May with an B.E. in mechanical engineering. My gf graduated a year before with a B.S. in math and has 2-3 semesters left for her masters in special education. Neither one of us have a good job, but we're still looking. We enjoy hiking, canoeing, snowboarding, walking around town and about anything else outdoor related. We also like going to zoos, aquariums and museums. We have a dog and we try to bring him with us as much as possible.

Questions
I'm not a big fan of the cold here in upstate NY and haven't had the best luck finding a job so I've been looking for other places to live. After looking around for a while SLC seems like an amazing place to live. It seems like we can do all the things that we enjoy and have an easier time finding jobs. I'm trying to make sure that SLC is the right place for us before we move out there and realize that we don't like it.

1. There needs to be a number of hiking trails within ~ 1 hr that have green trees (similar to upstate NY scenes....not just canyons/dry mountains). This seems to be possible, but I'm just making sure.