Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Utah > Salt Lake City area
 [Register]
Salt Lake City area Salt Lake County - Davis County - Weber County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-19-2014, 10:58 PM

23 posts, read 40,443 times

Advertisements

I graduated from college almost 3 years ago with a B.S. in Economics. I even 3 actuarial exams passed, and I cannot find a halfway decent job for the life of me. I'm currently in my home state of Oregon, where there are 0 opportunities.

It seems like Salt Lake City has a lot of finance jobs and relatively low unemployment... I was thinking of just up and moving there in June if I don't have a better job by then (which is a 99.999% chance). Do you think I'd be able to land an entry-level analyst position of some sort within a couple months there?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-20-2014, 06:35 AM

1,596 posts, read 2,811,445 times
Keep in mind the SLC area has a relatively high proportion of people with BS/BA degrees. Simply put, it's an expected minimum in most professional level gov jobs here.

The gov office I recently left (after 10 years) only hired analysts/economists at the Master's level and above. I was an analyst at one time myself.