Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Utah > Salt Lake City area
 [Register]
Salt Lake City area Salt Lake County - Davis County - Weber County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-25-2014, 02:06 PM

32 posts, read 66,371 times

Advertisements

Hi Everyone,

I am considering moving to Salt Lake City with my family mostly because it seems more affordable and I lived there temporarily as a teenager (about 15 years ago) so I am somewhat familiar with how the weather is etc.

Any advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated. I have the following questions:

How is the job market? I work as an LVN/LPN and my husband is a merchandiser are there any jobs in these fields? I know I can search various job websites but it doesn't tell me if a lot of applicants are applying etc.

Also how is the pay compared to Southern California? We currently live in San Diego and the pay range for LVN/LPN is around 20-27 an hour. Merchandiser is about 10-13 an hour.

How safe is Salt Lake and are the more affordable areas still safe? By safe I mean not having shootings or armed robberies or car thefts on a daily basis. I know there is crime everywhere I am mostly concerned about violent crime.

How are the schools? Are they over crowded? Diverse? Do the teachers seem to care? What about special education? Do I have to fight for it? My youngest is in 2nd grade an is in a full inclusion class? Will they provide assistance for him? Anyone with information about how the special education is in Salt Lake it would be appreciated.