U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 02-15-2011, 03:16 PM
 
15,065 posts, read 8,686,677 times
Reputation: 6671
Default Anyone else seeing issues with Time Warners cable channels?

Is this becoming the norm for Time Warner's cable TV service?????

Channels becoming unavailable? A couple of hours ago I was watching a show on SYFY.... I select it now (4:00PM) and I see:

SYFY is currently unavailable
Please try again later.

This happens intermittently on other channels as well....

Also does anyone else feel as frustrated as I am with their onscreen TV guide?

~ Press the button nothing happens
~ Slower than molasses
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-15-2011, 03:18 PM
 
Location: Here
8,628 posts, read 6,769,720 times
Reputation: 3950
Yep. Been having issues with TWC for a few weeks now. From slow response to commands and some pixeling when watching HD channels.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2011, 03:18 PM
 
2,771 posts, read 2,219,742 times
Reputation: 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by plwhit View Post
Is this becoming the norm for Time Warner's cable TV service?????

Channels becoming unavailable? A couple of hours ago I was watching a show on SYFY.... I select it now (4:00PM) and I see:

SYFY is currently unavailable
Please try again later.

This happens intermittently on other channels as well....

Also does anyone else feel as frustrated as I am with their onscreen TV guide?

~ Press the button nothing happens
~ Slower than molasses
Yeah. And they expect you to pay over $150 per month for the crappy service.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2011, 03:36 PM
 
665 posts, read 802,230 times
Reputation: 340
+1, i've had the exact same issues as above. as well as my internet getting disconnected quite often.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2011, 03:39 PM
 
228 posts, read 249,785 times
Reputation: 222
Like you wouldn't believe.
With the internet too. Let's get a lawsuit going on these guys!

I heard that the boxes they charge ten bucks for every month only cost them about forty.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2011, 03:41 PM
 
228 posts, read 249,785 times
Reputation: 222
And don't get me started on "turbo".
That's why I'm getting it for free.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2011, 04:01 PM
 
Location: Northwest side of San Antonio
2,969 posts, read 3,762,232 times
Reputation: 1531
We've had the issues for months. After battling over new boxes and unplugging and plugging in they said it's something to do with cable lines. Ask them to come and take a look at it to see if they need to reinstall lines outside. While it sounds invasive, it may fix the problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2011, 04:43 PM
 
Location: North Central S.A.
1,180 posts, read 1,405,690 times
Reputation: 838
Same issues. But we have Direct TV. Weird stuff.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2011, 05:48 PM
 
15,065 posts, read 8,686,677 times
Reputation: 6671
About two hours later and the channels are back.

I shudder to call TW tech support, the last two times I had to call everything spoken by the tech at the other end of the telephone call sounded like a mouthful of marbles...

And then the famous words:
Quote:
Well I don't see any problems in your area, we'll have to send a tech out
And to Pickle Bus.... I've seen the Scientific Atlanta Explorer 4240HDC converter that TW rents on eBay (used) for 25 bucks...

Scientific Atlanta Explorer 4240HDC Cable Box and cords - eBay (item 270704867961 end time Feb-20-11 17:41:27 PST)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-15-2011, 06:35 PM
 
41,263 posts, read 44,022,248 times
Reputation: 12518
It is the same o mnay systems includig the internet when there are problems with the signal or other.To tell you the trueth mnay chnnels of smaller netwroks are pretty unrelaible compared to others bigger oens. They are just supplying the signal they receive to your house and I have not had many such problems otehr than what I experiened with other providers.I suspect like anything locally provided some local syatems are better than others tho.Liely those converters are hot and will not work without the service paid for from my understanding.I know people who called and dropped the service and it just quite workig even with the converter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2011 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $84,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2014, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 - Top