U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 08-26-2011, 01:25 PM
Bo Bo started this thread Bo won $500 in our forum's Most Engaging Poster Contest - Tenth Edition (Apr-May 2014). 

Over $104,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum and additional contests are planned
 
Location: Ohio
16,827 posts, read 33,246,704 times
Reputation: 13624

Advertisements

Has anyone in San Antonio ever gotten a discount on service for Time-Warner broadband by supplying your own modem instead of using theirs?

I read recently that Comcast charges $7/month for rental on its modems and that it is possible to get that amount removed from your monthly bill if you BYO modem. I would gladly supply my own if I could get a similar discount. Is it possible here?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-26-2011, 01:38 PM
 
5,635 posts, read 13,987,173 times
Reputation: 2731
I don't know about TW, but AT&T lets you buy your own modem and you don't have to pay the modem fee and installation fee.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-26-2011, 02:58 PM
 
Location: Windsor
204 posts, read 289,768 times
Reputation: 210
Yes, they allow it. I use my own Motorola with Time Warner.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-26-2011, 03:47 PM
 
Location: NW
246 posts, read 360,603 times
Reputation: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by grf430 View Post
Yes, they allow it. I use my own Motorola with Time Warner.
Interesting, didn't know. I don't believe that TW charges for use of the modem. If so it is a hidden cost.

Do you get a discount for furnishing your own? I just prefer to use theirs since every so often I take it in and get a new one. I have had a couple fail over the last few yesrs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-26-2011, 07:06 PM
 
Location: San Quilmas, Tx
4,089 posts, read 6,113,182 times
Reputation: 9135
I remember TW telling me that you can use your own modem BUT with no tech support. Anything goes wrong you're on your own.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-26-2011, 09:18 PM
Bo Bo started this thread Bo won $500 in our forum's Most Engaging Poster Contest - Tenth Edition (Apr-May 2014). 

Over $104,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum and additional contests are planned
 
Location: Ohio
16,827 posts, read 33,246,704 times
Reputation: 13624
Quote:
Originally Posted by macbillybob View Post
Do you get a discount for furnishing your own?
Same question.

And does your modem perform noticeably better than theirs?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-26-2011, 09:28 PM
 
Location: New Braunfels, TX
6,280 posts, read 9,054,776 times
Reputation: 6392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo View Post
Same question.

And does your modem perform noticeably better than theirs?
From our experience, it wouldn't take much to outperform the TW modems....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-26-2011, 09:49 PM
 
Location: Windsor
204 posts, read 289,768 times
Reputation: 210
There's no discount that I know of. I don't even remember if they charge a monthly rental fee like some providers. If they do, then I suppose you could count that as a discount.

I'm not sure what TW supplies, but I'm sure it's garbage compared to mine. I bought the top of the line Motorola (DOCSIS 3.0 etc.) when I had Comcast in CA before I moved here, so I just figured I'd keep using it.

Not really worried about tech support since it's just a modem. It either works, or it doesn't.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-26-2011, 09:57 PM
 
Location: Windsor
204 posts, read 289,768 times
Reputation: 210
And I will mention that I pay for the 15mb D/L speed, and it routinely speed tests over 25. Upload speed still sucks though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-27-2011, 06:51 AM
 
Location: NW
246 posts, read 360,603 times
Reputation: 154
using the TW modem I get between 25-30mbs down and 1.5-2mbs up. The modem is a Cisco product. I can't believe there is much difference in cable modems these days. Not what you would call cutting edge technology. and like i said i go get a new one anytime i want for free.

PS. I think your router probably has more to do with your performance than the modem. IMO
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2016 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top