Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 10-16-2011, 10:23 AM

11,431 posts, read 18,993,162 times

Advertisements

I posted an article to warn motorists about police stings going on the NW part of town. I was not speeding and did not get a ticket. I am an outside salesman, so spend a lot of time behind the wheel in this city. I have to dodge the many that habitually drive 10-15 miles under the speed limit and the humungous breeder mobile SUVs all day long. whenever I see a clear road where I can actually do the speed limit or even a little over it, I will take the opportunity. the police officers are only out to make the city richer. they could care less about safety. If they cared about safety, they would place those warning signs that indicate how fast you are going. speed limit traps are just citizen control and an additional tax revenue for the city.

Old 10-16-2011, 10:31 AM

7,130 posts, read 11,827,375 times
Why are they required to warn you (again) to obey the posted speed limit? I travel extensively as well - average 40k/miles a year or so, and have for over 35 years. If I'm ticketed for speeding, it's because I was - NOT because of a "speed trap" or "revenue grab" by the city involved. You need to educate yourself more about the distribution of funds on speeding tickets, and the costs involved in enforcing same - it really ain't that profitable when you look at it all.