U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 06-29-2012, 04:04 PM
 
15 posts, read 20,504 times
Reputation: 15

Advertisements

does anyone else have issues with time warner like i do? i just had cable installed tuesday and i cant watch a whole show without it skipping parts, like the cable freezes up constantly and the picture gets all screwy. its so annoying. i did not have these problems with direct tv.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 06-29-2012, 04:21 PM
 
1,276 posts, read 3,442,236 times
Reputation: 700
Had these problems when we upgraded to the whole house system. Seems the new system isn't compatible with my living room TV connected with an HDMI cable. Even swapped boxes with other TVs and no matter what box I used on my living room TV, it would freeze, black out for a few seconds, skip, etc. So had to re-hook everything up the old fashioned way and it all works fine now.

My husband thinks this is an excuse for a new TV.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-29-2012, 04:32 PM
 
15 posts, read 20,504 times
Reputation: 15
i am not using HDMI cable, its an older tv. but i used this same tv with direct tv and it worked fine. i noticed at my friends house (she has HDMI) it does the same thing at her house. i am getting so irritated with this, im missing half of a show with all the freezing up and skipping.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-29-2012, 05:13 PM
 
208 posts, read 338,733 times
Reputation: 182
if by anybody you mean EVERY SINGLE TMC customer ever in the history of forever...then yes .
get used to it and the long delay when switching channels, the *****y customer service, the phantom fees....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-29-2012, 05:42 PM
 
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
5,162 posts, read 9,748,130 times
Reputation: 7954
Are you using a digital box, or just regular cable going in to the back of the tv? On the tv in my bedroom, we dont have box, and every once in a while, the tv will jump and freeze
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-29-2012, 10:04 PM
 
1,882 posts, read 2,326,511 times
Reputation: 3395
I love my DirectTV !
Just wait till it rains....that's when the fun begins with cable.
I spit on Time Warner! Patooooie!


Ok...I'm done.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-30-2012, 04:00 AM
 
Location: Stone Oak
487 posts, read 981,832 times
Reputation: 329
We switched to UVerse the first of the year. Don't miss how long it took to change channels or the occasional outages. Not a single problem yet. Knock on wood
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-30-2012, 04:36 AM
 
7,002 posts, read 10,295,944 times
Reputation: 5397
I just got an HD tv and HD service from Time Warner a few months ago. I can't watch Cinemax On Demand because the movies keep freezing. Sometimes, I have to watch KSAT on its HD channel instead of the regular channel because the regular channel freezes. However, sometimes the HD channel says it's been blocked by Time Warner and to call customer service. Usually, a reboot gets the HD channel back, but the On Demand movies still freeze.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-30-2012, 08:51 AM
 
208 posts, read 338,733 times
Reputation: 182
the only problem i have with direct tv is occasionally the long wait for channel switch (could be the box) and some cable channels looking like i'm watching through a mud filter even when on HD versino (ie. fx, vh1 classic, food...) . but other than that i love the direct tv .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-30-2012, 08:53 AM
 
3,669 posts, read 5,921,637 times
Reputation: 1788
It probably is not Time Warner but your own wiring. Ask for a signal amplifier.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2016 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:12 AM.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top