U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-18-2012, 01:18 PM

18 posts, read 65,775 times

Advertisements

Hi, I am looking to go back to school for Nursing. I am new to San Antonio and am looking at several programs. I like the program at UTHSC for my BA. What community college would you recommend to do pre-requisites? Is there a difference in quality? If not CC, what College would you recommend and why?

Will be living in Live Oak area. Commute anywhere in SA won't be an issue-I plan on being a full time student. Prepared to drive as far as UTSA if that is the best plan. I am a veteran and will be using Post 9-11.

Any advice is appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-18-2012, 01:24 PM

7,629 posts, read 14,350,246 times
YOUR schedule will have a LOT to do with the program you enter....some of them have a HUGE waiting list...and then there are the "commercial" schools that allow you to enter several times per year with no wait....SAC has an awesome program...but from what I understand almost 2 yr wait list....Galen has a no wait, pay thru the nose program....and then there is everything in between.

Hope this helps...know it is not easy to focus, but if time is an issue here, I would go with the commercial program and get it over with.

Old 11-18-2012, 02:44 PM

69 posts, read 126,867 times
I researched the program at UTSA, went to the open house, met with the program recruiter, etc.

Big thing: they accept over 700 applications, and admit just over 100 per class.