U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-29-2007, 11:26 PM

15 posts, read 75,423 times

Advertisements

Hi all-
I used to be a teacher in San Antonio back in the 1970's. I went overseas to teach in international schools. I taught in San Antonio for about 6 years and overseas teaching in American/international for about 30 years. I'm contemplating returning to San Antonio at 61 years of age and about to slow down my full time teaching to part-time teaching.

I still plan on venturing overseas to teach a little perhaps and travel around the US, but having a homebase is important, and I think of that homebase as being San Antonio.

These are some of my beliefs and questions. Please correct me if I am wrong. First, San Antonio has a relatively low cost of living, so it's a great place to have as a homebase and travel from. Correct?

Second, since I prefer to not have a yard to tend, I am really only after a little townhouse or condo for single retirees like myself. I've heard the prices range from $100,000 to 150,000? Is that correct?

Third, since I have basically lived outside the USA for a long time, I have no credit rating in the US, although I do have several credit cards from outside the US. Although I have a very comfortable retirement and hefty bank account, I'm sure my FICO score is low. However, if I put a 40%-50%downpayment on a townhouse, can I still get a loan, or a mortgage? Is that becoming very difficult to do?