U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 04-28-2015, 04:08 PM
 
1,355 posts, read 886,939 times
Reputation: 1090

Advertisements

Which ports are blocked?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 04-28-2015, 04:09 PM
 
Location: San Antonio, Tx
7,653 posts, read 8,107,693 times
Reputation: 9204
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerpyDerp View Post
Disconnect the old modem, connect the new one, call TWC and you're up and running. I was on the phone for about 5 minutes.
Not necessarily...

I was sent an Arris DG1670 (for some reason) which has a built in router. I have a very nice (Asus) router and didnt want to use theirs. Putting it in bridge mode took forever. The whole process took about an hour and a half.

I dont know why they sent me a built in router......I was expecting just a modem which probably would have had me up and running in minutes.

BTW I havent seen much in the way of increased speeds. I was paying for 15 down and am now seeing 23 down. I was seeing that with the old modem,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-28-2015, 04:20 PM
 
Location: United States
464 posts, read 660,154 times
Reputation: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by SabresFanInSA View Post
Not necessarily...

I was sent an Arris DG1670 (for some reason) which has a built in router. I have a very nice (Asus) router and didnt want to use theirs. Putting it in bridge mode took forever. The whole process took about an hour and a half.

I dont know why they sent me a built in router......I was expecting just a modem which probably would have had me up and running in minutes.

BTW I havent seen much in the way of increased speeds. I was paying for 15 down and am now seeing 23 down. I was seeing that with the old modem,
Does it also have built-in Wi-Fi ??

If so, watch your next bill, they're billing me $4.95 a month for Wi-Fi. Just another excuse to nickel and dime their customer base. I will return it and buy my own.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-28-2015, 04:24 PM
 
945 posts, read 1,580,220 times
Reputation: 711
Well since these were random ports, I'd say a lot or most of them unless this was just my specific case.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-28-2015, 04:24 PM
 
Location: San Antonio, Tx
7,653 posts, read 8,107,693 times
Reputation: 9204
Quote:
Originally Posted by hillcountrywinefan View Post
Does it also have built-in Wi-Fi ??

If so, watch your next bill, they're billing me $4.95 a month for Wi-Fi. Just another excuse to nickel and dime their customer base. I will return it and buy my own.
It has built in WiFi but I have never had their Wifi before. I'll look to see if a charge shows up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-28-2015, 04:30 PM
 
27 posts, read 32,087 times
Reputation: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerpyDerp View Post
Which ports are blocked?
None
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-28-2015, 05:04 PM
 
Location: San Quilmas, Tx
4,082 posts, read 6,090,377 times
Reputation: 9126
I use Google Namebench (use to) and it worked fine. Now when I use it it tells me that the ISP (TW) is redirecting queries. I called TW and asked them about that. TW claimed they don't block anything. Liars!!


Last edited by Deep Forest; 04-28-2015 at 05:44 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-28-2015, 05:55 PM
 
Location: United States
464 posts, read 660,154 times
Reputation: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deep Forest View Post
I use Google Namebench (use to) and it worked fine. Now when I use it it tells me that the ISP (TW) is redirecting queries. I called TW and asked them about that. TW claimed they don't block anything. Liars!!
TWC are liars, no doubt about it. Their DNS sucks too.

I highly recommend OpenDNS www.opendns.com

Give 'em a try. The basic service is free and the subscription (well worth it) is only about $10 annually.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-28-2015, 07:36 PM
 
Location: San Antonio
19 posts, read 19,768 times
Reputation: 10
Anyone have confirmation of any more hubs being upgraded this week?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-28-2015, 07:45 PM
 
Location: San Quilmas, Tx
4,082 posts, read 6,090,377 times
Reputation: 9126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swarley View Post
Anyone have confirmation of any more hubs being upgraded this week?
Only the areas where Uverse is giving TW competition.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2016 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:41 PM.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top