U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 04-28-2015, 10:03 PM
 
Location: San Antonio
19 posts, read 19,834 times
Reputation: 10

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deep Forest View Post
Only the areas where Uverse is giving TW competition.
Well the excludes me. Heh. Supposed to happen for me this week but I don't trust TWC time frames...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 04-29-2015, 12:02 AM
 
1,004 posts, read 1,184,444 times
Reputation: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerpyDerp View Post
Disconnect the old modem, connect the new one, call TWC and you're up and running. I was on the phone for about 5 minutes.
The TW agent that I spoke with told me that this was not done.
I would have to call & schedule for technician to connect.

It seems that there is no consistency & it all depends on who you get on
the phone. Sometimes it can be challenging to understand what they are
saying.
I remember one time I called TW to find out why I had no picture.
I got the picture back plus as a bonus I was given one year of free
viewing of the movie channels. But after the time period is over the
movie channels remain but at a charge.
The only way I know that there is a charge is when I receive the
billing statement.
But sometimes it takes time to "decipher" the billing statement...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-29-2015, 04:44 AM
 
Location: San Quilmas, Tx
4,089 posts, read 6,109,996 times
Reputation: 9135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swarley View Post
Well the excludes me. Heh. Supposed to happen for me this week but I don't trust TWC time frames...
My upgrade was pushed back about a month after they told me it was to be the middle of April....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-29-2015, 04:47 AM
 
Location: San Quilmas, Tx
4,089 posts, read 6,109,996 times
Reputation: 9135
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerpyDerp View Post
Disconnect the old modem, connect the new one, call TWC and you're up and running. I was on the phone for about 5 minutes.
Ditto. No service tech needed here.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-29-2015, 08:24 AM
 
Location: San 'Tone
302 posts, read 565,932 times
Reputation: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerpyDerp View Post
Disconnect the old modem, connect the new one, call TWC and you're up and running. I was on the phone for about 5 minutes.
This was my experience as well with my self-purchased modem. The young lady who helped me was very courteous, got me up and running very quickly, and was easy to understand. About 5 minutes for the call. Service was verified on both ends before the call was ended.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-02-2015, 08:01 PM
 
19 posts, read 21,822 times
Reputation: 11
I went to get a new DVR today. I had been having bad trouble with it since I had previously had it swapped in January, at that time I was switching to the HD model from the non-HD model. The HD DVR was using 12% capacity for every hour of show it stored, which was most aggravating since it should have had a greater capacity.

I called the customer service number to say that I wanted the 6-tuner version, was the time warner maxx version available. First they said yes, then when I got to the office they said they couldn't distribute the new DVR until Tuesday 5/5/2015. Supposedly the DVR's were still in the warehouse and not in the office. Apparently they are "turning on the signal" at that point, Tuesday. Which was very aggravating, since initially they said they could do it. The lesson was that apparently the people at the customer service number do not know the whole story. I got a newer model as a replacement, hopefully it will work better. And I'll just have to trade it in again later down the line. I guess I'll need a new modem as well at some point.

Last edited by Bjmedina24; 05-02-2015 at 09:26 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-02-2015, 09:07 PM
 
Location: San Quilmas, Tx
4,089 posts, read 6,109,996 times
Reputation: 9135
They lie A LOT.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-03-2015, 01:25 AM
 
1,004 posts, read 1,184,444 times
Reputation: 985
When I have issues with the DVR, I take it back & get a new one.
Today I was told that the DVR replacement is not new. They just clear
the dust, reset as needed, package them back in cellophane & box.

I kinda had an idea but wasn't sure. And I have no way of proving this
at all.
This was told to me by the wife whose husband worked for that
company for many years. I asked her if she was still a customer with them.
She said no. Another cable company gave her a better package at a
very low price. But there's no guarantee how long this will last before
the fees go up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-03-2015, 08:16 AM
 
Location: San Antonio, Tx
7,679 posts, read 8,149,459 times
Reputation: 9249
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranchodrive View Post
When I have issues with the DVR, I take it back & get a new one.
Today I was told that the DVR replacement is not new. They just clear
the dust, reset as needed, package them back in cellophane & box.

I kinda had an idea but wasn't sure. And I have no way of proving this
at all.
This was told to me by the wife whose husband worked for that
company for many years. I asked her if she was still a customer with them.
She said no. Another cable company gave her a better package at a
very low price. But there's no guarantee how long this will last before
the fees go up.
Every provider refurbs their DVRs.

Actually, let me clarify....I know TW, Directv, and DISH refurb their DVRs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-03-2015, 08:28 AM
 
945 posts, read 1,585,858 times
Reputation: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by stabantonio View Post
None
Not necessarily true. The guy opened up something. None of my stuff was accessible from the outside until he did what he did. Now I can get to my stuff.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2016 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top