U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 03-20-2015, 01:49 PM
 
5 posts, read 8,920 times
Reputation: 10

Advertisements

I'm in the same area (78211) and have not received any speed upgrades yet. TWC chat support told me 1st week of April, hopefully this info is correct. I bought a new modem last month in preparation so I'm just patiently waiting.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 03-20-2015, 03:18 PM
 
Location: San Antonio
132 posts, read 195,203 times
Reputation: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMEEN View Post
I'm in the same area (78211) and have not received any speed upgrades yet. TWC chat support told me 1st week of April, hopefully this info is correct. I bought a new modem last month in preparation so I'm just patiently waiting.
The last time I used their chat support, the person didn't even know what I was talking about. Instead they tried to tell me that the only way I was going to get the 50Mbps was if I paid for it.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-21-2015, 09:15 AM
 
1,440 posts, read 1,107,038 times
Reputation: 1263
Quote:
Originally Posted by KM1174 View Post
i have the sb6141 and it will handle the 300 megs time warner may throw at it.
No it won't. You need a modem capable of bonding 16 channels for the 300 Mb/s speed. Yours will only do up to 100. Here's a list of TWC's approved modems:

Buy Your Own Internet Modem

I have the 6183 and I'm showing 16 bonded channels, but I'm still at 50/5 here in 78258 land. It should be bumped up soon.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-21-2015, 09:23 AM
 
1,175 posts, read 1,365,835 times
Reputation: 1335
The 6141 is capable of 300mb/s, not sure why they don't list it as working on their system at that speed. Probably just TWC being TWC.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-21-2015, 11:08 AM
 
Location: San Antonio
437 posts, read 606,369 times
Reputation: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by prim8 View Post
The 6141 is capable of 300mb/s, not sure why they don't list it as working on their system at that speed. Probably just TWC being TWC.
yeah that is the one i have as well. says it supports up to 341Mb/sec on the box.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-21-2015, 01:36 PM
 
1,440 posts, read 1,107,038 times
Reputation: 1263
Quote:
Originally Posted by prim8 View Post
The 6141 is capable of 300mb/s, not sure why they don't list it as working on their system at that speed. Probably just TWC being TWC.
Trust me, it won't get above 100, despite being capable of 300.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-21-2015, 02:34 PM
 
913 posts, read 718,034 times
Reputation: 1253
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerpyDerp View Post
Trust me, it won't get above 100, despite being capable of 300.
Ditto. I'm a geek and this is correct.

The lesser model can't bond 16 channels, which is what it would need with TWC to achieve full 300mbps speed. Also, take into consideration that without the proper wireless router (or a good, old-fashioned ethernet connection), you won't see anywhere near those output speeds in a home setting.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-21-2015, 02:59 PM
 
Location: San Quilmas, Tx
4,132 posts, read 6,870,732 times
Reputation: 9229
You'll need a DOCSIS 3.1 modem for Google Fiber and they'll be available late this year/next year. I'm changing over to an sb6183 modem that will take care of speeds up to 300 mbps. Also will be looking to buy a router that will be able to handle these speeds as the most popular ones can't.

Faster Speeds With Tri-Band Wi-Fi Routers? Not Exactly | News & Opinion | PCMag.com
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-21-2015, 09:38 PM
 
733 posts, read 996,453 times
Reputation: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerpyDerp View Post
No it won't. You need a modem capable of bonding 16 channels for the 300 Mb/s speed. Yours will only do up to 100. Here's a list of TWC's approved modems:

Buy Your Own Internet Modem

I have the 6183 and I'm showing 16 bonded channels, but I'm still at 50/5 here in 78258 land. It should be bumped up soon.
hm. fine by me, we were talking about downgrading to the 100/20 plan since we NEVER used the entire 50 downstream, even when torrenting. another 10 dollar decrease in the bill for double the speed we used to have (which was perfectly fine for us) is fine by me.

thanks for the heads up, not sure why moto would list it as handling that much if it couldnt

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadiantBaby View Post
Ditto. I'm a geek and this is correct.

The lesser model can't bond 16 channels, which is what it would need with TWC to achieve full 300mbps speed. Also, take into consideration that without the proper wireless router (or a good, old-fashioned ethernet connection), you won't see anywhere near those output speeds in a home setting.

wireless is for phones and my wiiu. all my pcs are hard wires VIA a gigabit router/switch of some type.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMEEN View Post
I'm in the same area (78211) and have not received any speed upgrades yet. TWC chat support told me 1st week of April, hopefully this info is correct. I bought a new modem last month in preparation so I'm just patiently waiting.

my contacts told me end of may they SHOULD have all of SA wired for maxx. they are generally right, though they got the date wrong on google fiber (its coming, they are just working out stuff. the net neutrality ruling helped a bit im told). the chat rep i spoke with said my zip code should be one of the next on the list (old money likes new tech and will gripe to twc to get it before people if they can), so i got that coming
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-22-2015, 02:14 AM
 
Location: Just Inside Loop 410
898 posts, read 2,780,755 times
Reputation: 495
I was just about to post this same question..lol I was sent a letter by TW about TWC MAXX, so I accepted, and they fedex'd me the new modem, I couldn't get it connected, but a TW rep on facebook messaged me, and he got it working. I have Turbo, but so far I see the same speeds. I messaged the rep about it, we'll see what he says. I'm in the 78228 area

update, got a response. my area gets the update in april

Last edited by tony78201; 03-22-2015 at 02:28 AM..
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Settings
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2020 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 AM.

© 2005-2023, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top