U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-20-2008, 02:58 PM
 
Location: San Antonio, TX
545 posts, read 1,634,340 times
Reputation: 201

Advertisements

Maybe this goes with another thread, maybe not. Just wanted to get the word out there.

TWC has certain HD stations that they must carry for free on every service plan, without requiring you to rent an HD box.

If you have an HDTV, you can pick up the the local HD channels (NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, PBS, My35) at no additional cost, meaning you don't have to rent an HD box from them and you don't have to subscribe to their HD package.

You don't get the pay for channels, like ESPN, HBO, A&E, etc. in HD, but if you have a situation like mine where you have a TV in the bedroom just hooked up to the regular cable without a box (we have a DVR box in the living room), you can still get free HD channels without using an antenna.

The must carry channels are a bit hidden, and TWC doesn't seem to be advertising that they carry them...in fact their FAQ on their website is downright misleading:

Quote:
Q: Does Time Warner Cable carry the local broadcasters' digital TV channels?
A: Cable companies are not required to carry digital and/or high definition TV channels produced by local broadcasters. Time Warner Cable is negotiating with all of the broadcasters in San Antonio to reach an agreement that will allow us to provide their high definition channels.
So since TWC isn't going to be straight about it, I will.

Again, you have to have an HDTV in order to receive these channels, but you can get them without a settop box. Just hook up your cable to your HDTV and try the following channels (two choices per channel depending on tuner setups)

119-80 or 119-1 - WOAI Weather Plus
110-81 or 110-3 - KSAT's LATV
111-91 or 111-1 - KLRN D1
110-93 or 110-4 - KLRN D3 Vme
111-94 or 111-2 - KLRN D4
110-104 or 110-1 - WOAI (NBC)
112-107 or 112-1 - KMYS (My35)
112-108 or 112-2 - KLRN D2
111-111 or 111-3 - KABB (FOX)
110-112 or 110-2 - KSAT (ABC)
112-155 or 112-3 - KENS (CBS)

Last edited by BstYet2Be; 09-19-2008 at 11:30 AM.. Reason: Include SA in the title for these type topics to keep it local ;)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-21-2008, 09:02 AM
 
418 posts, read 844,301 times
Reputation: 101
This only works if your HDTV has a QAM tuner. The ATSC over-the-air will not read the HD cable channels.

Point being, if you are buying a new HDTV make sure it has both a ATSC and QAM tuner.

For those of us that don't have a QAM on our tv, the tuner runs about $150. I haven't tried it yet, but waiting for the cost to be near $50 or less.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-19-2008, 11:22 AM
 
Location: San Antonio, TX
995 posts, read 1,463,879 times
Reputation: 300
I just purchased an HDTV, and I want shows like ESPN. What cable do I need to connect my cable box to my tv? Do I need HDMI?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-19-2008, 11:34 AM
Bo Bo won $500 in our forum's Most Engaging Poster Contest - Tenth Edition (Apr-May 2014). 

Over $84,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum and additional contests are planned
 
Location: San Antonio
14,631 posts, read 21,571,396 times
Reputation: 9902
Quote:
Originally Posted by traficdogn View Post
For those of us that don't have a QAM on our tv, the tuner runs about $150. I haven't tried it yet, but waiting for the cost to be near $50 or less.
I've looked for, but never found a set-top QAM tuner at any price.

I have an ATSC tuner already.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-19-2008, 11:35 AM
Bo Bo won $500 in our forum's Most Engaging Poster Contest - Tenth Edition (Apr-May 2014). 

Over $84,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum and additional contests are planned
 
Location: San Antonio
14,631 posts, read 21,571,396 times
Reputation: 9902
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newk View Post
I just purchased an HDTV, and I want shows like ESPN. What cable do I need to connect my cable box to my tv? Do I need HDMI?
ESPN is not a local must-carry. You need to purchase digital cable from the cable company and connect their converter to your TV.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-19-2008, 03:48 PM
 
Location: 78245
1,142 posts, read 2,888,454 times
Reputation: 402
My current set up is a OTA Antenna outside and it picks up nbc cbs and abc clearly with 29 being very choppy. I have a Mitzu HD receiver so it deconverts the signal but I also have another HD set in my bedroom that is a bit newer though still about 3 or 4 years old that has a TIVO box connected. Can I use the box some how to pick up the channels you mention? the TIVO box is not an HD box.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-19-2008, 04:54 PM
 
11 posts, read 52,329 times
Reputation: 16
Default tv reception

We just moved here (on Monday) All are things are still in Houston, storage area is still without power. We are thinking of getting a tv but don't really want cable. Can we just get a TV and plug it in to get local stations? This all we need. Kids are out on their own and we plan to be here just part of the year.

Thanks for your help.
Jane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-19-2008, 05:04 PM
 
Location: 78245
1,142 posts, read 2,888,454 times
Reputation: 402
If you have an HD set, you will need to have a OTA HD Antenna, close enough to Elmendorf, converter to HD and then you can get the main 3 local stations for free in HD. If just a regular antenna, you will be hitting the TV like Steve Buccemi in "Fargo".
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-19-2008, 06:01 PM
 
11 posts, read 52,329 times
Reputation: 16
What does Elmendorf mean?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-19-2008, 06:03 PM
 
Location: 78245
1,142 posts, read 2,888,454 times
Reputation: 402
It's a city south of town near 1604

Edit, that's where their antenna towers are.

EDIT 2
I use this feature, (OTA HD)
I am located at 1604 and Potranco and get the main 3 just fine and 29 and 35 sometimes.

Last edited by SA Greed; 09-19-2008 at 06:15 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2011 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram


Over $84,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2014, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 - Top