U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-06-2008, 12:34 PM

1 posts, read 9,488 times

Advertisements

hey Im kinda new to the whole metal detecting scene and was wondering if there were any good sites in northwest san antonio where I would have a good chance to find something like historical artifacts valuable stones or rocks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-06-2008, 03:04 PM

361 posts, read 579,796 times
NW San Antonio/the hill country is rich in fossils. Because of the conditions of nature, it's almost impossible to find a complete dinosaur bone, but it's easier than hell to find a rock with little bone fragments swirling throughout. The only complete fossils I ever found were fossilized sea shells approx. 2" in size and a fossilized piece of segmented worm maybe 2" in size. Really the fact of the matter is that NW SA/the hill country is a treasure trove for fossils, but since no one I've ever heard of has found some colossal complete dinosaur, it's over-looked.

There are also tons of native American artifacts in the area NW of San Antonio. Just keep in mind that you'll find more stone hatchet and arrow heads than flint ones.

Old 03-25-2008, 01:52 PM

2,886 posts, read 3,613,657 times