U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 10-09-2008, 10:50 AM
 
Location: Just Inside Loop 410
898 posts, read 2,559,930 times
Reputation: 486

Advertisements

I guess I'll be swicthing to WOAI. KENS news just feels like it's for my grandparents.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-09-2008, 01:45 PM
 
Location: 78245
1,241 posts, read 3,901,201 times
Reputation: 479
I am not a Time Warner customer!!!!

I refuse to pay them for bad receiver usability.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-09-2008, 02:50 PM
 
529 posts, read 2,496,602 times
Reputation: 165
Seems to me that if you still want to watch KSAT, you can just unplug the cable and stick in an antenna. Then when you want to watch something else, you can put the cable back in. I don't have cable and I pick up ABC, CBC, NBC, Fox and others using cheap rabbit ears.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-09-2008, 05:46 PM
 
Location: San Antonio, TX
202 posts, read 501,423 times
Reputation: 160
If Time Warner loses KSAT I am switching to Dish Network.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-09-2008, 05:53 PM
 
Location: AZ
247 posts, read 743,677 times
Reputation: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by shenane View Post
Seems to me that if you still want to watch KSAT, you can just unplug the cable and stick in an antenna. Then when you want to watch something else, you can put the cable back in. I don't have cable and I pick up ABC, CBC, NBC, Fox and others using cheap rabbit ears.
I think you are right on that. My remote can switch back and forth from one signal to another and that's what I'll be doing if I must watch ABC. I already have a converter box that is needed for 09', I had it to convert to HD before it was free to TW customers.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-09-2008, 05:58 PM
 
Location: San Antonio, Texas
317 posts, read 1,610,865 times
Reputation: 333
I am seriously considering switching to Att. I am growing tired of all the problems we have had with Time Warner. If we lose ABC, thats really it for us.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-10-2008, 10:19 PM
 
554 posts, read 2,105,657 times
Reputation: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by shenane View Post
Seems to me that if you still want to watch KSAT, you can just unplug the cable and stick in an antenna. Then when you want to watch something else, you can put the cable back in. I don't have cable and I pick up ABC, CBC, NBC, Fox and others using cheap rabbit ears.
That will only work for the next 130 days until the digital tv conversion.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-11-2008, 03:39 AM
 
259 posts, read 820,404 times
Reputation: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXRose View Post
That will only work for the next 130 days until the digital tv conversion.
That's not true for most HD televisions or anyone with an almost-free digital-analog converter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-11-2008, 05:53 AM
Bo Bo won $500 in our forum's Most Engaging Poster Contest - Tenth Edition (Apr-May 2014). 

Over $104,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum and additional contests are planned
 
Location: Ohio
16,823 posts, read 33,229,869 times
Reputation: 13612
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXRose View Post
That will only work for the next 130 days until the digital tv conversion.
I doubt that KSAT will be off of Time-Warner for that long. KSAT can't afford to walk away from that many viewers. That's why they're trying to reduce the number of T-W subscribers.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-11-2008, 06:25 AM
 
259 posts, read 820,404 times
Reputation: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister View Post
That's not true for most HD televisions or anyone with an almost-free digital-analog converter.
Here's the government website that offers 2 $40 certificates for the purchase of a digital-analog converter that will enable your analog televisions to work with over-the-air broadcasts after the switchover in February. Converters cost about $50, so the certificates knock the price down to about $10 when all is said and done.

https://www.dtv2009.gov/AboutProgram.aspx
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2016 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:46 AM.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top