U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 05-25-2010, 03:47 AM
 
147 posts, read 269,575 times
Reputation: 108

Advertisements

TW new TV guide system is screwing with my HDTV! When I change from some channels, the screen goes blank and a box comes up displaying 'HDMI video 1080i and changes to 720p' or visa versa and then the station comes up. Grrrrr! It's driving me crazy!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 05-25-2010, 07:41 AM
 
Location: Deerfield
59 posts, read 133,870 times
Reputation: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by traficdogn View Post
i'm wondering why x-box doesn't offer cable tv.

AT&T Uverse will begin using Xbox360 as a replacement set top box beginning in October.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-25-2010, 12:02 PM
 
Location: San Antonio, Tx
7,679 posts, read 8,149,459 times
Reputation: 9249
Quote:
Originally Posted by brenty13 View Post
TW new TV guide system is screwing with my HDTV! When I change from some channels, the screen goes blank and a box comes up displaying 'HDMI video 1080i and changes to 720p' or visa versa and then the station comes up. Grrrrr! It's driving me crazy!
The TW box probably has a "Native" setting (like my Directv box has). Basically it automatically switches the resolution based on what it is receiving rather than leaving the tv to upscale or downscale (many tv's do a lousy job of scaling). This also makes changing channels slower. What you described is exactly what my Directv box does, but I have mine set that way intentionally.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-26-2010, 09:08 PM
 
56 posts, read 104,557 times
Reputation: 27
Got home from the gym so I could watch American Idol, which I DVRd. Not a big fan of commercials. I haven't been real impressed this season, mainly been watching the ends and highlights. Started watching it, and 20 minutes in, show stops. I set the box to record the show and added an extra 15 minutes to the end just to be safe. DVR is half full, not sure what the heck happened. Again, what a worthless service. At least I could check Twitter from my iPhone to see who won. TWC is getting a huge ear full in person tomorrow when I cancel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-26-2010, 09:18 PM
 
Location: san antonio, tx
616 posts, read 858,057 times
Reputation: 917
OMG! After moving from San Diego and having COX, we did not realize how spoiled we were. TWC quite frankly - sucks! Needless to say they don't have the NFL channel, but there several channels that they don't offer (that COX or even ATT U-Verse offers for a similar price). Not to mention, we often experience glitches with the picture (channel will just freeze up) and the DVR capabilities are inadequate. Can't wait for ATT U-Verse to come to our area because we're making the switch. The one GOOD thing I can say about TWC however is that you don't need a cable box. We have a couple TVs hooked up with just the cable wire, which is very convenient for guest rooms or rooms where you don't spend a lot of time in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-27-2010, 01:19 AM
 
Location: Just Inside Loop 410
898 posts, read 2,560,137 times
Reputation: 486
Default Time Warner Digital Cable ...Mystro????

whoa, its 2am, and my digital box turned off, then a blue screen comes on saying "Mystro" and that I will have new settings? any news on this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-27-2010, 01:33 AM
 
Location: Just Inside Loop 410
898 posts, read 2,560,137 times
Reputation: 486
so its a new layout.....seems to be working o.k. I checked youtube, and there were some very angry people complaining that mystro is very slow, but those posts were 2 years old. so what do you all think?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-27-2010, 03:41 AM
 
15,924 posts, read 17,429,916 times
Reputation: 7641
Default Just upgraded to new mystro menu from time warner, IT SUCKS

It's cutsie, I'll give you that, but that's it. slow, every channel I go to has a different picture size, called time warner, seems I can't go back to the previous/old menu system.....
The initial menu size is small, no way to change. dude at time warner tells me "the picture size is dependent on the camera they used to film the show"
~DUH~ BUT IT DIDN'T DO THAT WITH THE OLD MENU SYSTEM!!!!!
the only thing worse than time warner is fire ants......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-27-2010, 03:46 AM
 
15,924 posts, read 17,429,916 times
Reputation: 7641
Default mystro...

My service was upgraded around 2AM this morning (5/27).....

I hate it, some parts of it are really slow, the picture size seems to change depending on the channel, the old one didn't do this..... The initial menu small, shows what? 4 channels at a time? gimme a break.

Called time warner asked to get the old menu system back, was told nope, no can do.

I HATE IT.......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-27-2010, 09:26 AM
 
147 posts, read 269,575 times
Reputation: 108
I posted this in another TW thread that the TW new TV guide system (Mystro...'is a mystery to me')is screwing with my HDTV! When I change from some channels, the screen goes blank and a box comes up displaying 'HDMI video 1080i and changes to 720p' or visa versa and then the station comes up. Someone said it prob had something to do with a "native" setting?? How do you fix it? Is HDTV and 'Mystro' incompatible?

Besides being so much slower, I even have gone from one channel to another and get no sound. I go back and forth and then the sound comes back! IMO this is the worst move TW has ever initiated for "improvement" HA

I would like to change to ATT or something, but from what I hear from others, there are just as many complaints. Anyone want to start up a cable system that works? I'll be the first to subscribe.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2016 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 PM.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top