U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Diego
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 02-10-2011, 12:58 PM

6 posts, read 10,322 times
Default Is cost of living really more than Boston?

Hey everyone, I just signed up to the forum because I had a few questions regarding the whole COL situation in San Diego. My boyfriend and I are currently living in Boston, I'm a Realtor and he is a PhD student in Neuropsychology. I've read/heard countless things about the cost of living in San Diego as being is one of the highest in the national, higher than Boston. This doesn't seem to add up to me considering how low the rent is(comparatively). We live in Brookline which is a town over from the actual city, where we spend $1,700 a month for a 1 bedroom ($1,885 including parking). Including utilities and groceries it costs us about $22-2300 a month to keep a 1 bedroom apartment up and running. This is just in Brookline too. As I said I'm a realtor and a similar apartment in the actual city would easily go for $3,100 a month (this doesn't include utilities or other living expenses). From what I've seen it appears that someone could get a pretty nice 1 bedroom in the San Diego area for less than $1,500 a month. So my question is, with this huge difference in the cost of housing, how is that San Diego is more expansive?