Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Diego
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-06-2012, 06:53 PM

12 posts, read 25,328 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone.

Currently I'm living in Mission Valley, I'm a student at SDSU, and I'm thinking of moving out and getting my own apartment. I found pretty good ones in North Park, but I've heard bad stuff about that neighborhood. I'm 19 and I'm going to live by myself for at least 4 months. I liked it because its close to downtown and hillcrest, and I thought the area around SDSU was really boring and kinda not safe too. So is El Cajon Blvd/North Park really bad, and filled with prostitutes and drug dealers? and what do you think of University Heights, Normal Heights? any other suggestions?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-06-2012, 07:19 PM

4,530 posts, read 12,358,308 times
Assuming by your moniker that you are a guy, none of the areas you have mentioned, North Park along ECB, Normal Heights, University Heights, or the area around SDSU (College, Rolando, Talmadge) should pose the least bit of safety problem for you. Just don't go walking the streets at 2am with large wads of cash bulging out of your pockets, staggering along drunk looking like an easy mark. Seriously, you would have to be doing something majorly stupid to be a victim of street crime in San Diego. Your only real risks are car break-ins and car theft. Maybe an apartment break in, but you're a college student, you shouldn't have that much worth stealing.

Now to the neighborhoods you have mentioned: