U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Francisco - Oakland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-05-2010, 11:37 PM

2 posts, read 7,720 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

I'm moving to Emeryville (near Bay st) and I'm somewhat new to the East Bay. I was hoping some of you could give me advice on just really what to do in the area.

All I really know is that its close to the Bay bridge and there is some good shopping nearby.

So I'd really appreciate if you all could let me know some of your favorite spots around town (restaurants, nightlife, shopping, entertainment...)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-06-2010, 01:18 AM

5,245 posts, read 6,743,140 times
Go to Ikea...?

There isn't much there, it's a tiny little town and it's where people from all around the Bay Area go for the strip malls and big-box stores that other towns don't have.

Oakland and Berkeley are nearby and have more stuff to do.

Old 07-06-2010, 01:27 AM

471 posts, read 714,535 times
There's a pretty good poker room in Emeryville - The Oaks. I wouldn't want to park my car there at night, but it's something to do there.

Old 07-06-2010, 01:31 AM

3,053 posts, read 2,443,822 times
aside from emery market and a cool bar called kitty's, there is nothing to do besides shop at bay street.

fret not, oakland and berkeley have way more to do and there are a 5-10 minute drive away- berkeley marina, lake merritt, jack london square, etc.

Old 07-06-2010, 11:22 AM

1,366 posts, read 1,777,400 times