U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Francisco - Oakland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-08-2012, 03:12 AM

2 posts, read 3,078 times

Advertisements

Hey guys,
So I have a huge dilemma, I recently received an offer for a good job up in Hayward. Now, I'm super stoked, but after doing some research I realized that Hayward might not be exactly what I'm looking for in terms of nightlife, culture, safety and environment. I'm a recent college graduate in my young-mid 20s and would love to get the experience that the city of SF has to offer. I have a few friends in the city but realize that the commute would be at least 45 mins. to and from work. Is this worth it? and if it is what is the best area to live in sf?

Can Union/Fremont offer a similar experience? Is there any other city closer to hayward that you would recommend based on my situation? Thanks! Your help is appreciated.
Quick reply to this message

Old 01-08-2012, 05:28 AM

5,242 posts, read 10,575,950 times
Honestly I'd check out Oakland to save on commute time and rent, but that's just me. SF is way more bustling but way more expensive, dirty and crowded compared with Oakland. I'd check out the areas around Lake Merritt and see what you think.

That said, 45 minutes isn't too bad of a commute...bring a good book and put in some earplugs and it will be over pretty quickly. Look for places near the 16th and Mission and 24th and Mission BART stations. Your door to door commute will really depend on how close you live to BART and how close your workplace is to Hayward BART.

Old 01-08-2012, 05:54 AM