Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Francisco - Oakland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-16-2012, 09:04 PM

411 posts, read 719,940 times

Advertisements

-see posting on craigslist for an apartment that opens up on Aug 1; respond within 10 minutes of posting
-go visit 2 days later; apparently I'm the 6th person he saw
-put in application
-he calls me 4 hours later to say that the building owners put me 3rd on the waitlist and they went with someone else

wtf? Not sure what their criteria is--I'm a professional making 200k+/year. More to the point, this rental market in SF is obscene

EDIT: I should also add that I once responded to a posting 30 minutes after it was posted. I get a response 1 hour later telling me that the unit has been taken. WTF

Last edited by checkup; 06-16-2012 at 10:02 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-16-2012, 10:26 PM

121 posts, read 210,033 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by checkup View Post
respond within 10 minutes of posting
Good.

Quote:
-go visit 2 days later;
Bad.

Quote:
apparently I'm the 6th person he saw
I was expecting you to be the 60th person he saw

From everything I've heard here, yeah, it's pretty crazy.

Old 06-16-2012, 10:29 PM

23,531 posts, read 24,011,889 times
Welcome to the SF Bay Area.

Seriously, keep trying, you will find one.

Old 06-16-2012, 10:55 PM

10,624 posts, read 26,731,484 times
Quote:
-see posting on craigslist for an apartment that opens up on Aug 1; respond within 10 minutes of posting
-put in application