U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Francisco - Oakland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-28-2013, 04:11 AM

8 posts, read 6,987 times

Advertisements

I am looking for a new apartment in the Bay Area. Currently, I live in Pleasant Hill, but I am relatively new to Cali.

Should I say this to a landlord who inquires about my income:

"I make about $1,800 a month. $800 is from Social Security Disability, $200 is from food stamps, about $200 is from not having to pay for my health insurance (Medicare and Medi-Cal), about $200 is help from family, and about $400 is from self-employment from selling things on eBay. My income is very stable, as I have been getting disability for 20 years now. I can provide verification for the Social Security, food stamps, and Medicare/Medi-Cal. I am also currently in the process of filing for chapter 7 bankruptcy and all of my student loans are in the process of being permanently cancelled by the Department of Education (one has already been, in fact), so I will have a very clean credit report."

(I had to give Medicare and Medi-Cal a value, even though it's free to me and pays me nothing, since if I worked a job, I would have to pay about $200 (???) probably from my paycheck monthly for health insurance. So that is money now that I do not have to pay for health insurance.)